Distinguished Service Award Recipient 2012

Distinguished Service Award Given to FBI Director Robert S. Mueller

Distinguished Service Award Given to FBI Director Robert S. Mueller
From L to R: Harry Phillips, Craig W. Floyd, Director Robert S. Mueller III, Suzie Sawyer, and Michael Muth

The Honorable Robert S. Mueller, III, Director of the FBI, was unanimously selected by the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund Board of Directors to receive our Distinguished Service Award in 2012.

As head of the FBI,  Director Mueller has made many contributions to keep America safe and to support the mission of the Memorial Fund. Director Mueller’s exceptional and transformational leadership of the FBI has helped to ensure that there have been no successful terrorist attacks on U.S. soil since 9/11.  His regular participation in the Memorial Fund ‘s annual Candlelight Vigil and other major events has demonstrated a deep concern for those officers who have been killed in the line of duty, and their families, especially for the eight FBI Special  Agents who have sacrificed their lives during Director Mueller’s tenure in office. The FBI’s Office for Victim Assistance and the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted Report are other excellent examples of the strong commitment that Director Mueller and the FBI have made to support crime victims and to promote law enforcement safety.

The Distinguished Service Award is the best way we know how to recognize his many contributions to the law enforcement profession and to say thank you to Director Mueller.