Distinguished Service Award Given to FBI Director Robert S. Mueller

The Honorable Robert S. Mueller, III, Director of the FBI, was unanimously selected by the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund Board of Directors to receive our Distinguished Service Award in 2012.  Our Board of Directors includes 16 of our nation’s leading law enforcement groups, representing virtually every federal, state and local officer in America.

From L to R:
Harry Phillips, Craig W. Floyd, Director Robert S. Mueller III,
Suzie Sawyer, and Michael Muth

The  Memorial Fund’s Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to “an individual or organization that has made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession.” Director Mueller will be joining a very impressive list of past winners of this award, which has been given since 1996.

As head of the FBI,  Director Mueller has made many contributions to keep America safe and to support the mission of the Memorial Fund. Director Mueller’s exceptional and transformational leadership of the FBI has helped to ensure that there have been no successful terrorist attacks on U.S. soil since 9/11.  His regular participation in the Memorial Fund ‘s annual Candlelight Vigil and other major events has demonstrated a deep concern for those officers who have been killed in the line of duty, and their families, especially for the eight FBI Special  Agents who have sacrificed their lives during Director Mueller’s tenure in office. The FBI’s Office for Victim Assistance and the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted Report are other excellent examples of the strong commitment that Director Mueller and the FBI have made to support crime victims and to promote law enforcement safety.

The Distinguished Service Award is the best way we know how to recognize his many contributions to the law enforcement profession and to say thank you to Director Mueller.

Prior Distinguished Service Award winners:
2011: Dick Wolf
2010: Target
2009: Vice President Joe Biden
2008: Congressman Steny Hoyer, House Majority Leader
2007: Cynthia Brown, American Police Beat Publisher
2006: President Bill Clinton
2005: Motorola
2004: Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell
2003: Police Unity Tour
2002: President George H.W. Bush
2001: United States Mint Police
2000: U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno
1999: John Walsh, Host of America’s Most Wanted
1998: Congressman (ret.) Mario Biaggi, Founder of the Memorial Fund
1997: The DuPont Company
1996: Senator Claiborne Pell, Honorary Chairman of the Memorial Fund