Distinguished Service Award Recipient 1996

Senator Claiborne Pell

Senator Claiborne PellSenator Claiborne Pell

The Distinguished Service Award is the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund’s top award. It is presented annually to “an individual or organization who has made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession.”  Senator Claiborne Pell, former Honorary Chairman of the Memorial Fund, was the first recipient of the Distinguished Service Award in 1996.